Numar Alfonso Blanco Bonilla

Executive Secretary


Since the beginning of 2017, he has held the position of Executive Secretary of the Latin American Energy Organization, elected by the Meeting of Energy Ministers of Latin America and the Caribbean for the period 2017-2020 and re-elected by the Meeting of Ministers held in Lima, Peru in November 2019 for the period 2020-2022. He is a Mechanical Industrial Engineer from the University of the Republic of Uruguay, Master in Administration and Business from the ORT University and a Diploma in Economics from the University of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay.

He has extensive experience as an Energy specialist in Latin America with an emphasis on regulatory issues, energy policy, project formulation and evaluation, business development and financing models. Prior to his current position at OLADE he was a Consultant for the World Bank, IDB, CAF and the United Nations and held senior functions within the government of Uruguay leading various components of the energy transformation of Uruguay initiated in 2005.



To contribute to integration, sustainable development and energy security in the region, advising and promoting cooperation and coordination among its Member Countries.


OLADE is the political and technical support organization through which its Member States make common efforts for regional and sub-regional energy integration.

Our Organization

OLADE is an intergovernmental public body, constituted on November 2, 1973, through the signing of the Lima Agreement.

The Organization is a cooperation, coordination and advisory body, with its own legal personality, whose fundamental purpose is the integration, protection, conservation, rational use, commercialization and defense of the energy resources of the Region.

OLADE was born in the context of the search for a new - more equitable - economic relationship between developed and developing countries in the early 1970s, the scope of which was analysed by the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean. Thus, the authorities of the Energy sector, with the objective of making a joint commitment to preserve the region's natural resources and to provide technical cooperation on sustainable and comprehensive development policies and measures to address the oil price crisis, began an intense process of political mobilization that culminated on November 2, 1973 with the signing of the Lima Agreement, the Organization's constituent instrument, which has been ratified by the 27 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean:

South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela

Caribbean: Barbados, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Suriname and Trinidad & Tobago

Central America and Mexico: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua and Panama.

Participating Country: Algeria

In promoting the creation of OLADE, it was considered the need to establish a mechanism for cooperation among the countries of the Region to develop their energy resources and to jointly address aspects relating to their efficient and rational use in order to contribute to the economic and social development of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Meeting of Minisetrs

It is the highest governing and authoritative body of the Organization. It is made up of the Ministers of Energy or whoever acts on their behalf in each Member Country.

Its main function is to formulate the policy of the Organization in accordance with the objectives set out in the Lima Agreement. Its responsibilities include approval of the Organization's work plans, budgets, activity reports, balance sheets and financial statements, and draft policy and regulatory reforms.

It is in charge of the election of the Member Countries of the Directive Board and the appointment of its Chair, Vice-Chair and Rapporteur.

It appoints and removes the Executive Secretary. It knows, approves or denies, on the basis of a report by the Executive Secretary, the entry of new Member Countries into the Organization, the re-entry of Member Countries and the status of Participating Country.

It meets on an ordinary basis once a year, and extraordinarily when required in accordance with the provisions of the Regulations.

Council of Experts

It is the advisory body to the Ministerial Meeting. It acts as a permanent preparatory committee for the Meeting of Ministers, reviewing the proposals of the Directive Committee, the Executive Secretariat and the Member States and providing advice on the activities of the Organization, prior to taking Ministerial Decisions.

It has a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, a Rapporteur and delegates from each of the Member Countries of the Organization. It meets on an ordinary basis once a year in the same premises and prior to the Ministerial Meeting and extraordinarily when circumstances so require it.